Logo graphic for the Coastal Resources Division
Coastal Advisory Council

 The Coastal Advisory Council

In 1992, the Governor of Georgia appointed a two-year, 25-member Coastal Zone Advisory Committee, representing a diverse cross-section of the coastal Georgia citizenry, to provide public input throughout the development of the Georgia Coastal Management Program. A new Coastal Advisory Committee was appointed in 1994 by the Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources to review the draft Program Document, to assist with public education throughout the program development process, and to provide technical assistance. In 1997, the committee was expanded to increase participation from interested local governments.

In 2003, the Committee was revamped and re-authorized by the Commissioner of DNR as the Coastal Advisory Council with By-laws and an appointed membership. The Council is charged with developing annual themes and funding criteria for the Coastal Incentive Grant Program, and providing a communication loop between the Coastal Management Program and coastal citizens.

Click links below for materials from previous meetings:

Fall 2016

Meeting Summary

Summer 2016

Meeting Summary

Spring 2016

Meeting Summary

Winter 2016

Meeting Summary

Fall 2015 

Meeting Summary

CAC Letter to EPD on Marsh Buffer Rules

 Coastal Advisory Council Members:

Member Name 


 Local Government Representatives
 Paul Wolff City of Tybee Island
 Billy Edwards City of Hinesville
 Sherry Davidson Southern GA Regional Commission
 Allen Burns Coastal Regional Commission
 Mike Edgy Brantley County
 Brett Manning Heart of Georgia-Altamaha Regional Commission
 Environmental Organizations 
 Christi Lambert The Nature Conservancy
 Russ Marane Land Trust Alliance, SE Region
 Steve Willis Sierra Club, Georgia Chapter
 Jo Hickson Coastal Georgia Greenway
 Ashby Nix, Vice Chair The Nature Conservancy
 Stacia Hendricks Little St. Simons Island/Bobolink Foundation
 Charles McMillan  Georgia Conservancy
 Academic Representatives
 Dr. Steve Vives

 Georgia Southern University

 Dr. Andrei Barkovskii GA State College and University
 Dr. Chester Jackson Georgia Southern University
 Dr. Eugene Keferl

 College of Coastal Georgia

 Katy Smith UGA Marine Extension/GA Sea Grant
 Joe Slaughter, Chair Paul Brockington
 Charlie Phillips

 Alton Brown

 Tate Holbrook Larry Miles
 Marci Culley Buddy Sullivan
 State Agency Representatives
 Mark McClellen Georgia Forestry Commission
 Ben Carswell  Jekyll Island Authority