Logo graphic for the Coastal Resources Division
Charlton County

 Charlton County includes the communities of Folkston, Homeland, Moniac, Race Pond, Saint George, and Winokur.

Charlton County was created in 1854 from a portion of Camden County.  It is Georgia’s 110th county and was named for Robert M. Charlton of Savannah, a U.S. Senator and one of Georgia’s foremost jurists.

Charlton County contains a large part of the Stephen C. Foster State Park and the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge and Wilderness Area, which attract 350,000 visitors annually. The Okefenokee Swamp is roughly 20 by 40 miles in size and occupies one-third of the county’s land. The impenetrable wilderness served as a sanctuary for the Seminoles and escaped slaves.  Okefenokee is Seminole for “Land of Quaking Earth”.

Ninety-eight percent of Charlton is wooded, making it the most timbered county in Georgia.  It is also home to one of the richest titanium reserves in the nation.  At one time, the area was to be mined, but the plans were abandoned due to concerns about the adverse effects on the Okefenokee.

For technical assistance contact Kelly O'Rourke at 912-264-7218